The Southern Home Bestuary: Living with our critter friends and enimies.


Mid-Summer Mice with Beetle Co-Stars
July 8, 2010, 11:39 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

 

Common house mouse apparently provides food for household beetles.

 Mice                                                       Remove                                                              Trap

 Populations of mice can grow to considerable numbers in old houses. I had been hearing mice in the false ceiling of my bedroom and started setting out traps. A dozen mice and two months later, I am still catching them. When I seem to catch them out of an area I move the traps and try there. I recently had Whitehall re-roofed, and I suspect the pounding and traffic displaced mice from the attic to the lower floors.

  As I reduce the population of mice, I find that I also reduce the numbers of small black beetles that I find on my bed and on  other surfaces in the house. Apparently there is a “cycle of life” going on here with the mice commonly feeding on other insects, and maybe the beetles too, and the beetles feeding on the mice’s droppings.

  A partial solution to solving a beetle infestation in your house is to aggressively trap mice and other rodents. This method of population control needs to be continued for a period of months to have a notable impact. My dogs help reduce the rodent population near the house by catching occasional squirrels and wood rats. They enjoy the work, but dig up the yard in the process as they also go after moles and chipmunks. The last two cause me no particular problems in the house; but any small rodent is considered “fair game” for hound dogs.   

 Employing the services of a good mouse-catching cat would also be an option; although at the expense of the local bird populations as collateral damage.

  It appears that very few things  are either all good or all bad. Adverse consequences will oftentimes arise from well-intended acts. The alternatives are to do nothing, or take measured risks with the expectation that the beneficial impact will be better than doing nothing.  All life is a measure of risk taking.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

